Member Log-in

Yelp Reviews

yelp-logo

The following are reviews that customers have posted on Yelp.com. When a new review is posted on Yelp.com, we display it here as well because any positive review will almost certainly be filtered from our Yelp rating within 48 hours.

Yelp claims that their automated software that makes the recommendation selections is unbiased. The Yelp video that explains their recommendation software (complete video found here) says "...every Yelp review is automatically evaluated by Yelp's recommendation software based on quality, reliability and user activity on Yelp. More often than not, those useful reviews come from active members of the Yelp community. Our recommendation software is looking for reviews from people whose opinions, positive or negative, we feel are helpful and reliable to consumers. Currently about 75% of reviews are recommended. We try not to highlight reviews by users we don't know much about, those that might be fakes, or rants and raves. Reviews that Yelp doesn't recommend can still be seen via a link at the bottom of each businesses profile page but they don't factor into the businesses overall Yelp star rating or review count...".

Goldrush Getaways has 173 reviews on Yelp (as of November 8th, 2018), 107 of which are recommended. That means 62% of our reviews (107/173) are "recommended", which has come up from 54% since 2016, but is still not in line with the 75% that Yelp says are recommended overall (quoted in paragraph above). Also, 51 of our 73 one star reviews are factored in to our Yelp rating and are recommended; 70% of all our one star reviews are recommended, which is 12% higher than our overall review recommendation percentage. Of the recommended one star reviews, 31 of the 51 (or 62%) have zero, one or two friends and less than 5 reviews; not exactly the active Yelpers that the video suggests is what Yelp looks for to recommend a review. Also, many of these one star reviews date back to 2012 or 2013, so those reviews stick around while newer and more relevant reviews are filtered. We have 65 five star reviews of which 32 are recommended. That means only 49% of our five star reviews are recommended, which is much lower than the overall 62% and the 70% one star recommended review percentages. The math is clearly still slanted against us, so we feel the need to point out the imbalance of our recommended reviews.

We don't feel that Yelp is out to get us. We just want everyone to be aware that Yelp filters customer reviews with an automated system, Yelp recommends reviews that Goldrush Getaways can prove contain false information, and that Yelp recommends reviews without verifying claims made by the reviewer. Yelp is permitted by law to allow someone to libel our company on their website. Yelp will not take down a review purely based on a false claim as their response is that they don't take sides. As a small business, all we can do is reply to the review, which is at least visible to the public. It appears that Yelp thinks a review from over 2 years ago from a person that didn't even visit our business, has no friends (on Yelp) and only 1 review is more credible that a review from yesterday from one of our actual members. We only ask that you keep all of this information in mind. We welcome both positive and negative feedback from the public and our members. We view negative feedback as an opportunity to learn and to improve our product and our service. Thank you.

Yelp does say that reviews change over time. We have seen a slight improvement over the past two years, so we are confident that time will rectify the current imbalance.

    • Christy W
    • Palo Alto, CA
    • 3 friends
    • 2 reviews
    2/9/2020

    Not a scam; a sales pitch yes, but not a scam. Very interesting business model and we would have done it if the time was right. Let's hope when we are ready they will give us the same deal as of we were first timers and if they don't then maybe I will change my star rating! Stay tuned.....

    • T V.
    • San Jose, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 33 reviews
    11/23/2019

    No scam here... rather, a good opportunity if you like to travel.

    My wife and I recently attended the presentation having received the invitation and notice of a prize by mail this week. We read the fine print and odds of winning described on the back and went into it knowing what to expect... an offer of a 7-day Mexican cruise ("winner" pays the taxes and fees). Plus $50 restaurant gift card and 2 free nights in one of 30 hotels (Sunday thru Wednesday check-in),

    I arrived with the experience of high pitched sales presentations but did not find this with Goldrush Getaways. Rather, we both enjoyed the informative sales presentation offered by Tony and the friendly, fair and knowledgeable support staff. They offered an opportunity for steep travel discounts at a price that could make $sense for the frequent traveler. I was excited for the couples we met which accepted the offer.

    As for us, the timing was not right and they made it clear that we could not return expecting the same offer. The gave us the gifts as described and we left happy. Happy to have attended the presentation and been given what seemed like a fair opportunity. Lots of other couples there... they all seemed friendly and curious. It was a comfortable experience. My recommendation to considering attending the presentation is to read the fine print and arrange for transportation because you likely will not be driving home in a new Tesla.

    • Corinna C.
    • Nicolaus, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 2 reviews
    10/30/2019

    I have been a member for about 5-6 yrs now, we are very happy Goldrush Gateways.
    I book family and friends with their vacations, I've booked a group with a total of 7 people all they way from Sweden, with hotel cars air and theme parks for a month, we just did a cruise and land tour with 15 of us and it was wonderful.

    • Martha M.
    • Rocklin, CA
    • 51 friends
    • 8 reviews
    10/24/2019

    I attended the presentation and was given more gifts than I even thought I had coming. I wish I could say that I know if their service is worth the investment, but I was unable to become part of the travel industry as they described (contracting to them as a travel agent and receiving the discounted prices that travel agents receive when they book travel. I did not have the funds currently available as I am newly single. However I was given $40 cash and a $50 restaurant gift card and a cruise for two with airfare and hotel stay. I have yet to use the hotel or the cruise but the $40 cash was real and I did spend that.

    • Neslihan K.
    • San Jose, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 4 reviews
    9/2/2019

    It's not a scam first of all. They invite you for a presentation and explain their business model. We decided to became a member after presentation but couple days later we changed our mind cause we really don't travel a lot, and it would not make sense for us. So they refunded our money.

    Still we were given our free gifts. If you travel a lot, that's a great program.

    • William D.
    • Moreno Valley, CA
    • 14 friends
    • 14 reviews
    8/7/2019

    My name is Bill and I recently retired from law enforcement after 30 years. I bring this up to let you know my integrity is high and I would not be saying anything in this post that was not 100% accurate. I have been a member of Goldrush Getaways for about 5 years. I paid several thousand to be a member and have recouped all my initial investment back and have been making a profit for years. Once you become a member, you have the responsibility to do your homework and learn how to use the agency for your benefit. You can't just sit back and do nothing and then get mad at Goldrush. I signed up because I knew I was going to retire and wanted to travel and save money. I specialize in cruising because that is what I love to do. I recently booked 4 cabins for me and family members. My commission on all rooms was over $1,200.00 dollars. My family members had a balcony and I had a mini-suite. I got 100% of the commission for the room I was in. On paper we put my wife in another room so we would get 100% commission on that room also. All other rooms I received 60% of the commission and Goldrush got 40%. That was $1,200 in my pocket that I would never had received if I wasn't a travel agent with Goldrush.

    If you go to Goldrush website there is a calendar that lists all kinds of classes that you can take for free. You can either attend on-line or show up at the office. I have attended many of these classes to learn how to be a better travel agent so I can make the most money possible. I have called Goldrush numerous times when I had questions about booking something, and have always been given the information I needed.

    There is no doubt you can make a profit, but you have to put in the time and energy. Thank you and take care!

    • Laura G.
    • San Francisco, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 3 reviews
    2/2/2019

    I recently attended a meeting, and in the end, I joined the program !!
    Shout out to Tami, a promo booth associate I met in the RV sale at Alameda, for being so personable, warm and kind, and courteous and straight to the point honest, which made me turn around and entrust my long overdue retirement plans to finally, a person I can trust to get tips and direction !!!

    I've been working nonstop for over 40 yrs and was looking secretly for after-retirement activities in between travels. She nailed it for me! All packaged to fit my goals. AND, her genuine enthusiasm for the thrilling future I was about to embark on, got me gearing full speed ahead towards the starting line.
    The company's concept was a clear success and I had no problem joining the team. Everybody did great delivering a short clear profile, mission, and benefits.

    But know that their success and my retirement future started with a person like Tami who reached out with genuine regard for bettering people's quality of life!

    • Mallory P.
    • Fairfield, CA
    • 153 friends
    • 3 reviews
    11/8/2018

    Best decision I've ever made! We take full advantage of the "Hot Weeks". That alone was worth it for us. We always do things last minute and every time I've called to make arrangements the staff, especially Wendy, are extremely kind, patient and helpful. Booking is always a breeze!

    • Mandy R.
    • Wheatland, CA
    • 112 friends
    • 1 reviews
    9/11/2018

    I have enjoyed using this company for years!! I have enjoyed complimentary Disneyland tickets and discounted neighboring hotels; as well as, I saved at least $2,000 on my trip to Maui this past summer with my family!! Looking forward to booking my very first Disney cruise with this company this year!!!

    Being a member has paid in many ways!!

    • Brigette T.
    • Granite Bay, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 34 reviews
    9/5/2018

    Terrific saving as a member of Goldrush Getaways!!
    I am happy to share my latest example: Staying in Seattle in the Summer can be pricey but not thru my membership I was able to stay at a Fabulous Hotel (Edgewater) on the waterfront and drive a Chevy Tahoe (and you know full-size SUV aren't cheap). My savings was over $900!!!

    • Handsome M.
    • Morgan Hill, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 5 reviews
    7/11/2018

    I had questions pertaining to one of the travel vouchers granted at an initial meeting with the organization. While it took two referrals to different employees, when I did get to the one who understood my issue/question, I was given sound answers and recommendations.

    • Ruth P.
    • Auburn, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    3/3/2018

    I was very interested in the possibilities that GRG offers, but was hesitant because of the price. Brigette helped me understand some payment options that fit in my budget now to give me the best benefit. I can't wait to get started!

    • Chris S.
    • Morgan Hill, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 2 reviews
    2/26/2018

    We have been members of Goldrush for several years and we travel to Europe often. After our second trip to Europe we saved more than what we paid in membership fees. The savings are great. We attend the training sessions for which there is no charge. If you travel a lot, this is a great value.

    • Lois B.
    • Fremont, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 34 reviews
    12/23/2017

    We've been Goldrush Getaway members for about 2 years. Appreciate the savings they offer. Especially appreciate their expertise and practical help.

    • Josefina S.
    • Lakewood, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 2 reviews
    10/6/2017

    I am glad I joined because I love to travel, also knowing I can help my family & friends who will be able to afford to travel, have fun & fulfill their dreams of going to different parts of the world.

    I find their customer service professional & did not put pressure on us into joining. They are Very helpful & friendly. We are Looking forward to do business with them.

    So far we are pleased w/ their team. Tomorrow we are attending the orientation. I am so excited to start sharing this w/ my family & friends.

    • Happy Mom T.
    • San Carlos, CA
    • 1 friends
    • 7 reviews
    9/12/2017

    We went to the meeting in Santa Clara. We were cautious since were knew this was a "time-share" type of event. However, we were surprised that they were straightforward and honest straightaway. The $9000 was not for us since we do not travel much but for it may be a good deal if you want to get away on a regular basis.

    • Steve H.
    • Vacaville, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 2 reviews
    8/22/2017

    My girlfriend and I just joined Goldrush Getaways and look forward in learning more on how to save money on great vacations. I've always been interested in the travel agent profession because I do travel a lot (work and play) and after meeting Stacy C. and hearing her presentation, I can't wait to get started!! Thank you Lee who pulled us into the booth at the LG Art show 2 weeks ago and thank you Stacy C who sold us on this membership. You have to remember one thing if you join anything......"If you don't put any effort into it, you will get nothing out of it! But if you put effort into anything, you can reap the rewards and in this case beautiful vacations at lower prices!!

    • Daniel O.
    • Roseville, CA
    • 29 friends
    • 17 reviews
    8/21/2017

    Hi,
    My name is Daniel and I have been a member of Goldrush Getaways for the last seven years as well as my spouse James. We initially joined because we wanted to take advantage of the free trips. They also offer education to train you to become a travel agent. How awesome is that!

    The education provided at the Citrus Heights Office covers just about every single question or thought that you could dream up about becoming a travel agent. They have many different types of classes from Cruising to the importance of Travel Insurance and renting Cars Everywhere you go and just teaching you to making sure the details are covered.

    So go with Goldrush Getaways or Just give me a call and I can help as well.

    • Johna P.
    • Sacramento, CA
    • 109 friends
    • 23 reviews
    8/10/2017

    Elizabeth & Beatriz in Citrus Heights CA, helped me with a Carnival cruise, then they sent me an email, that Goldrush Getaways had blocked rooms on the same ship 1 week earlier. So I called Tracy Bettencourt in Southern Calif., she is handling the group. We canceled my first cruise & re-booked our new cruise and saved $150.00! Tracy is so friendly & helpful!
    She provided me with outstanding customer service and helped me save money too!!
    Thank you!!!!
    Johna

    • Drew S.
    • Emeryville, CA
    • 3 friends
    • 20 reviews
    7/4/2017

    My Husband and I attended a 90 min seminar in Campbell, Ca and we had a game plan to not be pressured into buying anything this company was selling. We both thought is was a timeshare scam or some type of multi-level marketing pitch. After being sent away the first time because we didn't have the right documentation to participate in the seminar, I almost said forget it but, I really wanted our free Hawaii trip so be drove the 25 miles back down to Campbell to sit through the seminar. To my surprise, I was immediately excited by the information, and because I was also very familiar with the what the presenter was saying, I realized this was a no-joke opportunity. My husband on the hand was NOT impressed and was not to be moved. At the end of the presentation, I was ready to sign on the dotted line. Not because of what the presenter said, but because of my own research and how we could benefit from all the savings provided with service. My husband said NOPE, so we packed up our stuff and moved to the next person who's job it was to change our mind. In all my years of going to seminars like this one...

    The one bit of advice I would give companies that have this motto is... Keep it at two levels (same as car dealerships). The three-level approach is not only tiresome but it also very predictable, so when you know this what is coming, you just sit back and play the game. My husband was NOT impressed by anything of this and wanted to walk out with our gifts at the first-level. I told him to sit tight and let's go through the hoops because we deserve at least the gift we were promised (Hawaii trip) and I wanted to make sure we walk out with at least something for our long drive. We sat quietly waiting for tier-three and finally a nice gentleman came over and started his small talk. A long story even longer... When he was done, we bought into the company and we are now proud employees of GoldRush Getaways. I am so, looking forward to our first trip to Hawaii and much more after that. Word of advice to those who doubt companies like this one... If you don't travel at least (3) to (4) or more times a year. This is not for you! The gift they offer you is not worth your time if you don't like traveling or you don't travel a lot. For my family, this is a perfect fit.

    • Kim E.
    • Santa Cruz, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 5 reviews
    6/27/2017

    Jessica at Goldrush in Campbell is a great trainer; we really feel well taken care of in the classes.

    Maria, the travel agent went above and beyond to help me get set up AND to get a great rate and airline seat!! Wow! When do you ever get travel help that exceeds your expectations today?

    • Carl D.
    • San Jose, CA
    • 20 friends
    • 117 reviews
    5/11/2017

    Better than most of these kinds of companies.

    Angelo gave the pitch and was entertaining.
    We went to happy hour before so we weren't hungry and were relaxed.
    The sales pitch And deal are better than time shares and much less pressure. If you stay at condos or take cruises then it might be worth the cost.
    Overall this is the only positive rating I have ever given to this type of company.
    Goldrush deserves it for a relatively clear pitch and polite reasonable pressure sales.

    • Judy B.
    • Walnut Creek, CA
    • 206 friends
    • 3 reviews
    4/24/2017

    My husband and I signed up for a chance to win a free trip at a Home Expo in Concord. We were notified that we were qualified to win free roundtrip airfare to either San Diego or Vegas and 2 nights of hotel. All we had to do was to attend the Goldrush Getaways presentation in San Jose, about an hour from where we live. We attended the presentation yesterday, and even though we expected the "hard sell," on something - we weren't sure what, we still decided that it'd be worth it to get the prizes. Well, I was stressed when we arrived, but we were treated with courtesy. We did have to show our IDs and a credit card (as a form of ID only), which was fine. Then, we were led back to a small room with tables where the presentation was being given. A salesperson sat at each couple's table and asked us to fill in a form about where we'd like to travel and where we've been - again very casual. The presentation itself was only about an hour, and it was professional and laid back at the same time. We were given all of the important info up front - including price etc, which was really refreshing.

    After the presentation, a salesperson came to speak with us. The conversation was casual - no hard sell at all and no "making us feel bad" if we didn't buy. We did have genuine questions, which the salesperson answered for us. He also left us alone to speak, as a couple, so that we could determine whether or not this was a fit for us. We were treated with the utmost courtesy and felt like we were given the opportunity to actually be open-minded and truly consider the opportunity being offered to us. Now, we've been victims to a LOT of hard sells in our day, including time shares, etc, and our experience at Goldrush was a refreshing departure from all of that.

    In the end, we decided that this wasn't a fit for us right now because of career and our kids' school time constraints, mostly, but we had such a good experience at Goldrush that we are considering them in the future, and we would recommend them. Oh, and we were given certificates for our roundtrip airfares and hotel. We do have to mail in the certificate and go through a bit of red tape to redeem it. The whole experience was good.

    • Danielle M.
    • Sacramento, CA
    • 512 friends
    • 152 reviews
    1/13/2017

    I don't know anything about their time share stuff, as I just reached out to them to book my first 20 day trip to Europe. Italy, Greece, Spain, France, and England in 20 days and including a cruise.

    Deidre P is helping us with in country flights, our cruise, our US to Europe fights, and little things like train tickets too.

    She's been super helpful with our price points and our restrictions as well as informing us on stuff we'd have no idea about being rookies at this.

    I would highly recommend them for overseas travel planning.

    • Donna A.
    • Vacaville, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 2 reviews
    1/5/2017

    I have been a member of Goldrush for over ten years. If you actually book travel for others or for yourselves you will make more money than you pay. I have found the employees of Goldrush to be very helpful and they provide a lot of training. You get what you put into it. I have never had a problem receiving my commissions. Most of the negative reviews on Yelp are from people who did not even give the program a chance. If you seriously want to be a travel agent and you want to receive the training to do so then the program is worth it.