Member Log-in

Yelp Reviews

yelp-logo

The following are reviews that customers have posted on Yelp.com. When a new review is posted on Yelp.com, we display it here as well because any positive review will almost certainly be filtered from our Yelp rating within 48 hours.

Yelp claims that their automated software that makes the recommendation selections is unbiased. The Yelp video that explains their recommendation software (complete video found here) says "...every Yelp review is automatically evaluated by Yelp's recommendation software based on quality, reliability and user activity on Yelp. More often than not, those useful reviews come from active members of the Yelp community. Our recommendation software is looking for reviews from people whose opinions, positive or negative, we feel are helpful and reliable to consumers. Currently about 75% of reviews are recommended. We try not to highlight reviews by users we don't know much about, those that might be fakes, or rants and raves. Reviews that Yelp doesn't recommend can still be seen via a link at the bottom of each businesses profile page but they don't factor into the businesses overall Yelp star rating or review count...".

Goldrush Getaways has 134 reviews on Yelp (as of November 9th, 2016), 72 of which are recommended. That means 54% of our reviews (72/134) are "recommended", which is not in line with the 75% that Yelp says are recommended overall (quoted in paragraph above). Also, 45 of our 62 one star reviews are factored in to our Yelp rating and are recommended; 72% of all our one star reviews are recommended, which is 18% higher than our overall review recommendation percentage. Of the recommended one star reviews, 19 of the 45 (or 42%) have zero, one or two friends and less than 5 reviews; not exactly the active Yelpers that the video suggests is what Yelp looks for to recommend a review. Also, many of those are over 2 years old, so those reviews stick around while newer reviews are ignored. We have 51 five star reviews of which 17 are recommended. That means only 33% of our five star reviews are recommended, which is much lower than the overall 54% and the 72% one star recommended review percentages. The math is clearly slanted against us, so we feel the need to point out the imbalance of our recommended reviews. Yelp does say that reviews change over time, so we are confident that time will rectify the current imbalance. Currently, of our 72 recommended reviews Yelp uses 45 one star reviews in our rating (which is 62%).

We don't feel that Yelp is out to get us. We just want everyone to be aware that Yelp filters customer reviews with an automated system, Yelp recommends reviews that Goldrush Getaways can prove contain false information, and that Yelp recommends reviews without verifying claims made by the reviewer. It appears that Yelp is protected by law to allow someone to libel our company and Yelp will not take down a review purely based on a false claim. We can only reply to the review, which is at least visible to the public. It appears that Yelp thinks a review from over 1 year ago from a person that didn't even visit our business, has no friends (on Yelp) and only 1 review is more credible that a review from yesterday from one of our actual members. We only ask that you keep all of this information in mind. We welcome both positive and negative feedback from the public and our members. We view negative feedback as an opportunity to learn and to improve our product and our service. Thank you.

    • MaryAnn D.
    • Penryn, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    12/15/2014

    I am new to Goldrush and after talking with Micki, I know I made a good choice by joining.  She was most helpful and made me feel very comfortable learning about travel.  She also seems to be a wealth of knowledge and told me to fell comfortable about calling her whenever I had any questions - and I will take her up on that.  I am so excited about being a part of Goldrush.

    • Wade F.
    • Antelope, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    12/15/2014

    Great presentation.  Well done by the staff.  We enjoyed the time spent learning about this company.  We felt NO pressure to buy their service but it actually made a lot of sense because we travel a lot and plan to travel even more next year.  The staff had promised gifts to attend the presentation and we received each gift with no hesitation at all.  Everything was a explained by phone and e-mail.  We thank Goldrush Getaways for honoring their promise of a time limit and promotional gifts.  I've already set up our restaurant gift card account and it is a true 50% savings at local establishments in our area.

    • Julio B.
    • San Fernando, CA
    • 124 friends
    • 11 reviews
    12/9/2014

    I'd like to express my gratitude for the level of service provided by Goldrush Getaways for really exceeding my expectations. We normally do all of our own travel arrangements, but with the craziness of the holidays we decided to try our luck with Goldrush. I personally be happier with the knowledgeable & friendly service provided given this was our very first cruise. I was surprised by the number of options offered to me and was very pleased with the final outcome.
    Your agents made booking our cruise a wonderful experience that I will be sure to brag about to friends & family.

    • Rita V.
    • North Highlands, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    12/5/2014

    When my husband and I first went to the presentation, we were very unsure, but now that I have been doing this for one year and selling, plus traveling, I Love doing this. I am an Independent Travel Agent for Goldrush Getaways, I have been doing this for one year, At Goldrush, they offer a lot of classes to take in all the vacations they offer for us to sell to our family and friends, I also can call at any time when I need help and Elizabeth Chandler has always been there to answer and assist me so much,  I am very please with my membership, I just renewed it, and it also gives me time to travel more with family.

    • Jennifer L.
    • Fremont, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 4 reviews
    12/3/2014

    Bob did a very good job for explaining the benefits, pros and cons.
    At end we decided not to join. Bob still was very professional and polite

    • Barbara B.
    • Citrus Heights, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    10/25/2014

    I went on a wonderful day trip with travel guide Micki King....the trip was so much fun and really educational....all the 3 locations we went to gave us wonderful tours and it was very fulfilling...we had a wonderful lunch at an old fashion cafe and the food was wonderful as well as the service...this trip was top notch from Micki King our travel guide down to our wonderful bus driver....I am looking forward to more of these bus trips...I have already booked my Victorian Christmas trip in December.

    • Linda R.
    • Carmichael, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    10/21/2014

    Micki @ GoldRush Getaways always plans the best trips. This trip to Chico was no exception. I had no idea that there were such interesting places to visit in Chico. Bus was great, lunch was great at a local eatery and the Orient & Flume was very interesting. Really enjoyed the Honey Run Covered bridge too. Again, who knew?? Wonderful!

    • Marilyn S.
    • Rocklin, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    10/13/2014

    I question the intriguity of the telemarketers and sales people used, they certainly don't represent the Goldrush Getaways that I am a part of. I was amased to discover that the sales people at fairs are not Goldrush employees. The ones I've encountered are not that familiar with what Goldrush does.
    **NOW let me tell you about the Goldrush Getaways I'm associated with: I've been an Agent for 4 years, my reason for joining was never about getting something for free, I joined to learn how to be a Travel Agent, have a small business in my home and yes, find bargains. I have learned how to be an Agent through excellent training and support from the people at Goldrush. I would never expect Goldrush to do it for me, but, I do expect them to show me what to do and they have done that very well.
    I am very proud to be affiatiated with Goldrush Getaways and also feel they represent me well. I make a little $$ and have lots of fun helping my friends and family plan their vacations and trips of a lifetime. My only concern is that it takes about 3 months to get paid.
    In reading the other comments I feel you should get rid of the telemarketers and do a better job of screening and training those who work the fairs. Make sure they represent all of us the way Agents want to be represented. We work hard, are good Agents and create wonderful and exciting trips for our clients and ourselves.
    Here's a thought: maybe Goldrush Getaways should think about hiring some Marketing people, pay them a salary, teach them what we do and get good qualified people.
    It makes me a little sad that this medium is not creating an accurate picture of the organization regarding what it represents and how hard everyone work.

    • Dennis K.
    • Carlsbad, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    10/3/2014

    We recently became independent agents with Goldrush Getaways and had to go throught initial training offsite since we live in Southern California.. We worked closely with Micki King, travel agengt, who was excellent and provided us with a great deal of triainging and assistance. She helped orchestrate webinars and hands on training on line and explained a lot of details that were not evident. He knowledge and expertise made the process seamless and fun. I took a lot of notes to help in setting up future trips. She was responsive and executed on everything she agreed to do for us along the way. I really enjoyed working with her and know that as we beginning the training journey, we can count on her assistance. She alaways followed up and clearified any queastions we had. Micki is clearly an asset to the firm and should be recognized for her efforts.

    • Mike H.
    • Saratoga, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 6 reviews
    10/2/2014

    Not sure why there are so many low reviews.  Their program is pretty good.  You join to be a travel agent.  My goal is to save on my own travel.  I have 5 children and travel extensively and I know over my lifetime I will be able to take advantage of the commission savings and other perks presented.  They have a lot of classroom and web training.  If you are half way good on the computer the instruction makes very good sense.  The instructors are great as is the telephone support.  And once you get the instruction you are good to go.

    • Harold W.
    • Sacramento, CA
    • 1 friends
    • 2 reviews
    9/29/2014

    My wife and I have been Agents for Goldrush Getaways since 2004. We pay about $136.00 a year for the both of us and are certified Travel Agents. We have had very positive experience with the staff at Citrus Heights being attentive to our needs and our lack of the travel industry knowledge.

    Last November we booked a cruise for the two of us and another couple to New Zealand and Australia. While on this cruise,

    the four of us were given a champagne reception on the ship, a free land tour, and a visit to the Captain's Quarters. No one else on the ship were afforded these opportunities. This was done by an an affiliate Goldrush Getaways Travel Agency.

    After the cruise we received a commission for about $950.00 from Goldrush Getaways. We frequently book trips for our friends and relatives and give them back the commission.

    We are reluctant in attending meetings or webnets to keep inform, but we do rely on the staff at Goldrush Getaways to assist us and so for ,they have never failed us.

    • Diana W.
    • Sacramento, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    9/23/2014

    We are extremely pleased with Goldrush Getaways! They are helpful when we are booking and whenever we have questions.
    Micki King was especially helpful when we had to cancel a cruise to my husband's accident. Thank goodness we purchased travel insurance just as she recommended. Diana W., Sac

    • Glenda H
    • Rocklin, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    9/13/2014

    Micki King was very helpful to us when planning our next trip. She was always there to promptly, positively and cheerfuly answer all our questions. She had lots of helpful suggestions and her experience showed. She is positive, quick to respond and follow through
    Thanks Micki, we are so looking forward to our trip.
    Thanks, also to Teena who was helpful in finding a condo in Punta Cana for us.
    I have read some of the negative reviews and have concluded that the persons who have such a negative view of Goldrush have not put in the effort it takes to learn something new. The travel business is a complexed business and there is a learning curve as with everything worthwhile. With a little effort I am sure that you will be traveling soon and saving lots of money. A good place to start is with the classes. All the agents/employees have been very helpful.
    Happy traveling!
    Glenda H

    • Doug G.
    • Roseville, CA
    • 4 friends
    • 50 reviews
    6/23/2014

    We "entered" at the Placer County Fair, read all the small print and then came to Yelp and saw all the negative reviews. We almost didn't go to our "appointment" because of all the negative reviews here. We decided to go and just see. We already knew the price from some of the reviews on here, and knew that they were wanting to sign us up to be travel agents, and thus get travel discounts.
    The presentation was well prepared, and the presenter did a great job. The information was very interesting and believable. Pressure to buy was much less than we've experienced at other "presentations" and yes, they asked us several times, but it wasn't high pressure at all. In the end, we didn't buy only because of timing issues. We have two daughters getting married in the next 8 months and all our extra money will be spent on those two weddings.
    Yes, the "free" trips are not free, and you have to jump through a ton of hoops to get them, but the presentation and information provided was useful and almost got us to join.
    If it weren't for the wedding, we probably would have bought into the program, as we do travel often enough to get the deals. If it was a year from now, we would join. But we can't go back for 2 years now. :-(

    • Damon O.
    • Las Vegas, NV
    • 0 friends
    • 6 reviews
    6/4/2014

    We enjoyed the short presentation and received all the prizes that we where promised to us. We also won $500 cash. Worth the drive and the time. No pushy sales people. We had fun and were treated very professionally. I would recommend this invitation to anyone looking to save money in the future on travel packages.

    • Jo Lynn B.
    • Watsonville, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 2 reviews
    5/14/2014

    Just got home from a trip to Ireland with Cynthia L. the Agency Manager and had a terrific time.  She created a once in a lifetime tour for 18 of us.  Some travelers went on to different European locations before & after our tour.  They commented to me how pleased they were with the support form Goldrush Getaways staff in their current and past travels.  I can only say that I have been with Goldrush since 2004 and am very happy with the program...gripers who fuss about how they were introduced to the program have missed out on great travel for themselves and their families.

    • Barbara R.
    • Lincoln,CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    4/5/2014

    Love the discounts! Just went to Hawaii, hotel right on Waikiki beach was free, we just paid the taxes!! God half off on Dinner cruise and Submarine Adventures and 10% off on guided tour and transportation to Pearl Harbor. Yay!!! I am loving the benefits. We are now planning a trip to Aulani where we can get 40% off with our Goldrush Getaways membership. Woohoo. I love to travel and do the research, I think that's what makes it work for us.
    Best wishes to all!

    Previous Review from Barbara R. on 1/14/2014 - 4 Stars:
    I've been super happy with it!! We have saved a ton on vacations and hotel stays. The free vacation was disappointing because they gave us a crappy hotel :( But that was Spirit Incentives, not Goldrush. They have been helpful when I had questions. I booked an vacation for my friend right away and she had a fabulous time and I got her a great price!! You do have to get the CLIA card, but you just have to plan ahead for that. There are great savings on everything from Disney to hotel rates! We are definitely getting our money's worth and we have only had it about 8 months. I think the satisfaction depends on whether you really learn how to use the benefits. They offer tons of classes to teach members, which is the key, I think to getting good use of membership. We got half price at the Disneyland hotel last August and can't wait to go on the Disney Cruise for 149.00 per night per person!!!!!!! SO CHEAP for Disney Woohoo!!! Also going to Hawaii in 2015! If you have it or get it, I hope you enjoy it! Takes a little homework, so worth it. Also, DON'T pay 8K for it!!! We paid 4!! They will come down on price. Also, why we are happy, didn't cost as much for us as some are stating :) Happy Travels to all

    • Najma L.
    • Carmichael, CA
    • 1 friends
    • 2 reviews
    4/1/2014

    My friends and I are going to Jamaica  in June and instead of buying the tickets on line  we decided to work with a agent. I was referred to this company by a friend and I have to tell you I highly highly recommend them for your next trip.  I was lucky to get to work with Deborah .....she kept me inform through every details.  Worked with our budget and answered all the questions we had and she was always available to us . She really took care of all the details for us and we all thank her and we appreciate all her hard work.......great job Deborah

    • Sean M.
    • Lodi, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    3/10/2014

    Elizabeth at Goldrush Getaways went over and above the call of duty for me. I am a new member and I needed some "hand holding". She was so gracious in helping me sort out my travel plans over the week end (she was supposed to be off those days). Thanks again Elizabeth for your help. I look forward to working with you again.

    • Tom R.
    • Lincoln, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    3/3/2014

    We would like to take this opportunity to thank and commend the staff at Goldrush Getaways. We have been members now going on our third year and the experience has been excellent. We never intended to become to become independent travel agents, but the traveling and learning experience has been rewarding.When we have questions and or issues to deal with  the staff at Goldrush has alway been there to assist us. We have become much more comfortable in our planning and traveling. Looking forward to many more traveling experiences with our friends and family.

    • Vanessa J.
    • Carmichael, CA
    • 127 friends
    • 120 reviews
    3/2/2014

    Presentation stuck to the 90 minute guideline. Awesome!
    The presenter was pleasant and the concept is the best by far; I would much rather choose this above owning a timeshare.

    • Peggy G.
    • Olympia, WA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    2/28/2014

    I have been with Goldrush Getaways since 2005. This past summer I went on my dream European vacation.  Fortunately for me Cynthia, the best travel agent there is, caught my time zone mistake and made sure I booked for the correct number of nights in Venice.  If she hadn't paid such attention to detail I would have not had a hotel room on my last night.  I would highly recommend Goldrush Getaways.

    • Brigette T.
    • Granite Bay, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 3 reviews
    2/25/2014

    A friend recommended Goldrush Getaways to me and I joined. I have since then booked a cruise to Alaska which was FANTASTIC. I was able to book the cruise very easily after taking the Goldrush Getaways Membership Introduction class. I also got some friendly help from the travel agents they have on staff. Her name was Cynthia.She made sure I received all Goldrush Getaways "Friends and Family" benefits and I saved $878.40 on a cruise package AND had the time of my life!

    • Tom F.
    • Sacramento, CA
    • 19 friends
    • 7 reviews
    2/24/2014

    Well after ALL the time researching, reading, attending classes and networking, I can say it's really paid off. I save $$$ thousands every year traveling. Yup, I'm partly retired but to everyone that says "it's not worth it" . . . . don't give up.
    Keep putting in the time to really really understand the business of travel - Goldrush has a lot of 'pros' on their team and it takes a while to learn everything they can offer.
    At the start, especially enjoyed the Citrus Heights classes from our trainer (Karen) and then networking with other more experienced members.
    On our actual trips ( you'll meet wonderful people in the groups ) our last was on an Avalon Romantic Rhine cruise - 5 stars to all the other Goldrush TAs who were with us, 5 stars for how Goldrush set up the entire program and then mentored us. 

    Also helps to attend a 'Learn at Sea' when they come up if not for the shear 'networking' value with the other experienced TAs. Also enjoy getting reinforced with all the trainer's tips & techniques . . . . I'm never too old to learn.
    Looking forward to continue to take advantage of Goldrush's leverage in the travel business. For me, their office is convenient in Citrus Heights, CA - but understand they also do webinars . . . . nice touch.
    The more you learn, the easier it gets. Keep CRUISIN'.

    • Kasey C.
    • Elk Grove, CA
    • 2 friends
    • 1 reviews
    2/24/2014

    I have been with Goldrush Getaways since 2008. I have booked some great vacations and received wonderful service from Goldrush Getaways, as well as discounts and commission on top of that. The staff are wonderful, they have help me so much in getting started and making my reservations. I just book a cruise for 2015, cant wait for my trip to the Mediterranean.