Member Log-in

Yelp Reviews

yelp-logo

The following are reviews that customers have posted on Yelp.com. When a new review is posted on Yelp.com, we display it here as well because any positive review will almost certainly be filtered from our Yelp rating within 48 hours.

Yelp claims that their automated software that makes the recommendation selections is unbiased. The Yelp video that explains their recommendation software (complete video found here) says "...every Yelp review is automatically evaluated by Yelp's recommendation software based on quality, reliability and user activity on Yelp. More often than not, those useful reviews come from active members of the Yelp community. Our recommendation software is looking for reviews from people whose opinions, positive or negative, we feel are helpful and reliable to consumers. Currently about 75% of reviews are recommended. We try not to highlight reviews by users we don't know much about, those that might be fakes, or rants and raves. Reviews that Yelp doesn't recommend can still be seen via a link at the bottom of each businesses profile page but they don't factor into the businesses overall Yelp star rating or review count...".

Goldrush Getaways has 134 reviews on Yelp (as of November 9th, 2016), 72 of which are recommended. That means 54% of our reviews (72/134) are "recommended", which is not in line with the 75% that Yelp says are recommended overall (quoted in paragraph above). Also, 45 of our 62 one star reviews are factored in to our Yelp rating and are recommended; 72% of all our one star reviews are recommended, which is 18% higher than our overall review recommendation percentage. Of the recommended one star reviews, 19 of the 45 (or 42%) have zero, one or two friends and less than 5 reviews; not exactly the active Yelpers that the video suggests is what Yelp looks for to recommend a review. Also, many of those are over 2 years old, so those reviews stick around while newer reviews are ignored. We have 51 five star reviews of which 17 are recommended. That means only 33% of our five star reviews are recommended, which is much lower than the overall 54% and the 72% one star recommended review percentages. The math is clearly slanted against us, so we feel the need to point out the imbalance of our recommended reviews. Yelp does say that reviews change over time, so we are confident that time will rectify the current imbalance. Currently, of our 72 recommended reviews Yelp uses 45 one star reviews in our rating (which is 62%).

We don't feel that Yelp is out to get us. We just want everyone to be aware that Yelp filters customer reviews with an automated system, Yelp recommends reviews that Goldrush Getaways can prove contain false information, and that Yelp recommends reviews without verifying claims made by the reviewer. It appears that Yelp is protected by law to allow someone to libel our company and Yelp will not take down a review purely based on a false claim. We can only reply to the review, which is at least visible to the public. It appears that Yelp thinks a review from over 1 year ago from a person that didn't even visit our business, has no friends (on Yelp) and only 1 review is more credible that a review from yesterday from one of our actual members. We only ask that you keep all of this information in mind. We welcome both positive and negative feedback from the public and our members. We view negative feedback as an opportunity to learn and to improve our product and our service. Thank you.

    • Steve C.
    • San Jose, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    1/28/2014

    Wow, I am a new member Joining three months ago. I have read many of the reviews and and noted that some of you think this is a scam. Before I Joined went to the presentation four times. Hey, I know excessive. I only took my wife once.
    Each time the presentation was somewhat different based on who gave it, but the core information was the same. This can and will save you money on travel if you travel in the First place. If you plan to take advantage of the business side of it ,
    you get out what you put into it. You have to go into these sort of things with your eyes open as effort on your part is always needed to reap a benefit. But in no way do I believe this is a scam where the just take you money and run. I know the people in Campbell and Irvine are very good/sweet and will help you. I can tell the workers in Critics heights are more stressed out and have to deal with everyone.

    • Mari E.
    • San Mateo, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 3 reviews
    12/19/2013

    I had another great experience when I went into the office. I attended the intro again and then Melonie spent as much time as I needed reviewing things with me and even set up a one to one meeting to help me get listed with the vendors so excited to learn more about the cruises and the great free inside cabin I will get upon completion of the princess academy. Thank you again for the VIP treatment. We are thrilled with our membership and so are our kids . They even like taking the quizzes with us. Happy holidays and many thanks. Mari & Don

    • Bob J.
    • San Lorenzo, CA
    • 48 friends
    • 9 reviews
    10/17/2013

    My partner and I attended the Sunday presentation and were quite impressed. I had not heard of FAM trips except at a glance here and there and had no idea that they could be such fabulous deals.
    Jim, the presenter, was wonderful to work with later, during the "sell" portion of the program, as it is being called here on Yelp. He explained things very clearly and cleanly, and was most easy to understand. I have been to many time share presentations, and this presentation was anything but. We were greeted as we came in with robust smiles, from people who obviously love what they are doing and are not out to do anybody wrong. I have experienced the opposite of this in other sales presentations, and my dealings with Goldrush Getaways did not smack of any of that kind of thing at all. It was a most pleasant experience, a great way to spend our Sunday afternoon.

    If my circumstances had stayed the way they were 7 year ago and the economy and the real estate market had not collapsed all around us since then, I would be a member now, at one level or another. I was most impressed with everybody there.
    I intend to keep in touch with Jim, who I also found to be a delightful person in general. And an excellent sales person, the kind I highly respect. The world needs respectful and intuitive sales people who have nothing but your best interests at heart, nothing gets done unless money keeps moving and flowing, and that's what sales people are for. If I had now the kind of predictable and trustable income flow I had had 7 years ago, things would be very different in my life. And I would have joined up.
    I think it's a great organization and give it my highest rating.

    • Michael W.
    • Pasadena, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 1 reviews
    9/27/2013

    We are independent Travel Agents and had ten people joining us on a Rhine River Viking Cruise. We thought we had covered everything before departing for 5 weeks in Germany. Paid all the bills and set up almost everything we could think of. We were about 3 days in Germany only checking e-mail once in a while. We received an e-mail that Viking had sent some packages to the Citrus Heights office. Viking had my home address and we work from the Ontario office, so could not figure out why they sent something to Citrus Heights. Because of time difference and the weekend my inquires did not do much untill the first of the week and we were on a cruise ship with poor internet. Our son wrote that Brian Carr had called inquiring about our plans with Viking Cruises.
    The end results was the Citrus Heights office forwarded the parcels to our home and our son contacted the other travelers to pick up the items and everything continued smoothly because of Mr Carr's help. Where we were we did not know how to reach the office if they had not called first.

    • Heidi B.
    • Hayward, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 15 reviews
    7/25/2013

    My husband and I went to the presentation in Campbell on Saturday.  We both enjoyed the presentation and felt that it was a pretty good idea.  Even though we do not travel much due to our work schedules and putting a kid through college, we decided we would do the 1 week condo a year option at $3990.  They do not provide you the opportunity to really discuss between yourself if the opportunity is right but they do offer a 3 day cancellation so we went ahead.  After going home, praying about it and looking at the fact that right now we do not go on any sort of long vacations we decided that it wasn't the best time for us and we decided that we were going to cancel the contract.  I followed the basic instructions, faxed my Notice of Cancellation letter to both the Campbell office and the Citrus Heights location (although it took 3 fax numbers provided to me by the receiptionist to finally get one that worked), and I sent via priority mail with tracking all of the documents required, I was pleased to find out when I call 2 days later and spoke to Tim that my deposit was already processed as a credit back to my credit card.  In a few years when our son is through college and we have more time I would look into this opporunity again.  I honestly was thinking that getting my money back was going to  be a hassle but it wasn't and I was pleasantly pleased with our overall experience.  I do feel that Joe in the Campbell office is a bit cocky and pushy, and before my husband and I even agreed to it was shaking our hands and congratulating us and then announces to the whole room we were new members.

    • Judy C.
    • Elk Grove, CA
    • 1 friends
    • 1 reviews
    6/27/2013

    We have been a member for about 10 years. We love what they have to offer. We have gotten our moneys worth with the travel agent rates and we just received a great commission check last week with a european cruise that we booked for my sister-in-law's relative.
    Plus they offer alot of training.

    • Mark C.
    • Chico, CA
    • 5 friends
    • 1 reviews
    1/26/2013

    I signed up after attending a seminar in approximately 2004.  I did a bit of haggling and got 8 x 1 week timeshare stays anywhere in the world (up from the 4 they give yearly). That alone is worth the $ if you use them.  The cruises, hotels etc. rates are awesome, travel agent prices.  Like John F. said, if you're an active traveler and use your membership benefits,  it will be repaid many times over.  I haven't used it as much as I should have (divorce sucks), but am looking forward to being able to travel again where I'll use it extensively!!  I've always had courteous service and help from the staff.  No I'm not an employee, just a cop in Chico  :^)

    • John F.
    • Sacramento, CA
    • 0 friends
    • 4 reviews
    12/12/2012

    I am a former member of Goldrush Getaways. In response to the negative reviews I must say that I always found the benefits of my membership to be extremely valuable. I love to cruise. I was quite frequently able to book travel at exclusive travel agent rates which could range as much as 40% to 80% below market value. That means I saved hundreds to thousands of dollars on my cruise vacations depending upon the length and accommodations of the cruise lines. I also saved great money on hotel rooms and rental cars. As a travel agent, travel companies provide incentive pricing so that you will recommend their products to your potential clients and friends. If you do a great deal of traveling or you book for your family and friends, you also share in the commissions paid to the travel agency by travel vendors.



    I have to say that I paid the cost of my membership many times over. The only reason I am not currently a member is that I moved to Oregon and am too far from the office to be able to take advantage of the great benefits. I so wish they had an office in Portland.
    Yes, the sales presentation seems slick but the gifts are real and the program is very worthwhile.